Affiliated faculty

Being affiliated faculty at the Swette Center for Sustainable Food Systems involves collaborating with the center’s interdisciplinary team and contributing expertise in areas such as agriculture, nutrition, policy and environmental science. Affiliated faculty play a vital role in fostering innovative solutions that address the complex challenges associated with food sustainability, aligning with the center’s mission to promote a healthier and more equitable food future.

If you are interested in joining our team of affiliated faculty, please contact Sara El-Sayed at sara.elsayed@asu.edu. You can read fun blogs about the backgrounds and research work of Swette Center affiliated faculty here.


Portrait of Joshua Abbott

Joshua Abbott

Acting School Director & Professor

School of Sustainability

Joshua.K.Abbott@asu.edu
Portrait of Joni Adamson

Joni Adamson

President’s Professor

English

Joni.Adamson@asu.edu
Portrait of Rimjhim Aggarwal

Rimjhim Aggarwal

Professor

School of Sustainability

Rimjhim.Aggarwal@asu.edu
Portrait of Marty Anderies

Marty Anderies

Professor

School of Human Evolution and Social Change

Marty.Anderies@asu.edu
Portrait of Karen Bradshaw

Karen Bradshaw

Professor

Sandra Day O’Connor College of Law

KBradshaw@asu.edu
Portrait of Alexandra Brewis

Alexandra Brewis

Regents Professor

School of Human Evolution and Social Change

Alex.Brewis@asu.edu
Portrait of Jason Bruner

Jason Bruner

Professor

SHPRS Religious Studies Faculty

Jason.Bruner.1@asu.edu
Portrait of Shauna BurnSilver

Shauna BurnSilver

Assoc Professor

School of Human Evolution and Social Change

Shauna.Burnsilver@asu.edu
Portrait of Peter Byck

Peter Byck

Professor of Practice (FSC)

School of Sustainability

Peter.Byck@asu.edu
Portrait of Joanne Cacciatore

Joanne Cacciatore

Assoc Professor

School of Social Work (SSW)

Joanne.Cacciatore@asu.edu
Portrait of Zhihao Chen

Zhihao Chen

Instructor

CISA – School of Applied Sciences and Arts

Zhihao.Chen.2@asu.edu

Portrait of Paul Coseo

Paul Coseo

Fac Head (ACD) & Assoc Profr

The Design School

Paul.Coseo@thunderbird.asu.edu
Portrait of Maria Cruz-Torres

Maria Cruz-Torres

Assoc Professor

School of Transborder Studies

Maria.Cruz-Torres@asu.edu
Portrait of Shuguang Deng

Shuguang Deng

Professor

School for Engineering of Matter, Transport and Energy

Shuguang.Deng@asu.edu
Portrait of Robin DeWeese

Robin DeWeese

Assistant Teaching Professor

College of Health Solutions

Robin.Deweese@asu.edu
Portrait of Kathleen Dixon

Kathleen Dixon

Clinical Professor, MY

College of Health Solutions

Kathleen.Dixon@asu.edu
Portrait of Hallie Eakin

Hallie Eakin

Professor

School of Sustainability

Hallie.Eakin@asu.edu
Portrait of James Elser

James Elser

Research Professor (FSC)

School of Life Sciences

j.elser@asu.edu
Portrait of Jeffrey Englin

Jeffrey Englin

Professor

Morrison School of Agribusiness

Jeffrey.Englin@asu.edu

Project Development Executive

Mortenson

Emeritus Professor

School of Life Sciences

Portrait of Janna Goebel

Janna Goebel

Assistant Professor

Global Futures Scientists and Scholars

Janna.Goebel@asu.edu
Portrait of Sarah R. Graff

Sarah R. Graff

Tchng Profr RMY + Hon Fac Fell

School of Human Evolution and Social Change

Sarah.R.Graff@asu.edu

Carola Grebitus

Associate Professor

Morrison School of Agribusiness

Carola.Grebitus@asu.edu
Portrait of Rolf Halden

Rolf Halden

Professor

School of Sustainable Engineering and the Built Environment

Rolf.Halden@asu.edu
Portrait of Sharon Hall

Sharon Hall

Assoc Dean & Pres Prof

School of Life Sciences

sharonjhall@asu.edu
Portrait of Kerry Hamilton

Kerry Hamilton

Asst Professor

School of Sustainable Engineering and the Built Environment

Kerry.Hamilton@asu.edu
Portrait of Arjun Heimsath

Arjun Heimsath

Professor

School Of Earth and Space Exploration

Arjun.Heimsath@asu.edu
Portrait of Renee Hughner

Renee Hughner

Associate Professor

Morrison School of Agribusiness

RENEE.SHAW@asu.edu
Portrait of Elisabeth Ilboudo Nebie

Elisabeth Ilboudo Nebie

Asst Professor

School of Human Evolution and Social Change

eilboudo@asu.edu
Portrait of Marco Janssen

Marco Janssen

Professor

Biosocial Complexity Initiative

Marco.Janssen@asu.edu
Portrait of Carol Johnston

Carol Johnston

Assoc Dean & Professor

College of Health Solutions

CAROL.JOHNSTON@asu.edu
Portrait of Isaac Joslin

Isaac Joslin

Asst Professor, French – Contemporary Francophone Literature and Culture

School of International Letters and Cultures

ijoslin@asu.edu
Portrait of Stavros Kavouras

Stavros Kavouras

Assistant Dean & Professor

College of Health Solutions

Stavros.Kavouras@asu.edu
Portrait of Jennifer Keahey

Jennifer Keahey

Assoc Professor

Melikian Center

Jennifer.Keahey@asu.edu
Portrait of Michael Kozicki

Michael Kozicki

Professor

School of Electrical, Computer and Energy Engineering

michael.kozicki@asu.edu
Portrait of Bryan Leonard

Bryan Leonard

Assoc Professor

School of Sustainability

Bryan.Leonard@asu.edu

Emeritus Professor

Arizona State University

Portrait of Alex Mahalov

Alex Mahalov

Professor

School of Mathematical and Statistical Sciences

mahalov@asu.edu
Portrait of Subhankar Mandal

Subhankar Mandal

Asst Professor

CISA – School of Applied Sciences and Arts

Subhankar.Mandal@asu.edu
Portrait of Mark Manfredo

Mark Manfredo

Professor

Morrison School of Agribusiness

manfredo@asu.edu
Portrait of Tennille Marley

Tennille Marley

Associate Professor

American Indian Studies

Tennille.Marley@asu.edu
Portrait of Sarah Martinelli

Sarah Martinelli

Clinical Assoc Professor

College of Health Solutions

Sarah.Martinelli@asu.edu
Portrait of Hamidreza Marvi

Hamidreza Marvi

Assoc Professor

School for Engineering of Matter, Transport and Energy

hmarvi@asu.edu
Portrait of Maureen McCoy

Maureen McCoy

Assoc Teaching Professor (FSC)

College of Health Solutions

maureen.mccoy@asu.edu
Portrait of Joan McGregor

Joan McGregor

Professor

SHPRS Philosophy Faculty

J.McGregor@asu.edu
Portrait of Sara Meerow

Sara Meerow

Assoc Professor

School of Geog Sci & Urban Pln

Sara.Meerow@asu.edu
Portrait of Clark Miller

Clark Miller

Assoc Center Dir & Professor

Global Futures Scientists and Scholars

Clark.Miller@asu.edu
Portrait of Ashok Mishra

Ashok Mishra

Professor & Marley Chair in Consumer Food Marketing

Morrison School of Agribusiness

Ashok.K.Mishra@asu.edu
Portrait of Valerie Mueller

Valerie Mueller

Assoc Professor

School of Politics & Global St

Valerie.Mueller.1@asu.edu
Portrait of Punam Ohri-Vachaspati

Punam Ohri-Vachaspati

Director (ACD) & Professor

College of Health Solutions

Punam.Ohri-Vachaspati@asu.edu
Portrait of Kristen Parrish

Kristen Parrish

Assoc Professor

School of Sustainable Engineering and the Built Environment

Kristen.Parrish@asu.edu
Portrait of Theodore Pavlic

Theodore Pavlic

Assoc Professor

School of Computing and Augmented Intelligence

tpavlic@asu.edu
Portrait of Yujin Park

Yujin Park

Asst Professor

CISA – School of Applied Sciences and Arts

Yujin.Park.2@asu.edu
Portrait of Christopher Penton

Christopher Penton

Assoc Professor

Biodesign Center for Fundamental & Applied Microbiomics

crpenton@asu.edu

Associate Professor

School of Humanities, Arts and Cultural Studies

Portrait of Brian Smith

Brian Smith

Professor

Partnership for Community Development

BrianHSmith@asu.edu
Portrait of Michelle Stewart

Michelle Stewart

Instructor

School of Sustainability

Michelle.Pulich.Stewart@asu.edu
Portrait of Bruce Rittmann

Bruce Rittmann

Regents Professor

Biodesign Swette Center for Environmental Biotechnology

Rittmann@asu.edu
Portrait of Jose-Benito Rosales Chavez

Jose-Benito Rosales Chavez

Asst Professor

School of Geog Sci & Urban Pln

Jose.Rosaleschavez@asu.edu
Portrait of Michael Schoon

Michael Schoon

Associate Professor

School of Sustainability

Michael.Schoon@asu.edu
Portrait of Roseanne Schuster

Roseanne Schuster

Asst Research Scientist (FSC)

School of Human Evolution and Social Change

Roseanne.Schuster@asu.edu
Portrait of Milan Shrestha

Milan Shrestha

Associate Teaching Professor

School of Sustainability Faculty

Milan.Shrestha@asu.edu
Portrait of Christy Spackman

Christy Spackman

Asst Professor

School of Arts Media and Engineering

Christy.Spackman@asu.edu

Professor

School of Electrical, Computer and Energy Engineering

Affiliate Global Futures Scholar

Globl Futures Scientists and Scholars

Portrait of Ellen Stechel

Ellen Stechel

Deputy Dir & Professor of Practice

Ellen.Stechel@asu.edu
Portrait of Daoqin Tong

Daoqin Tong

Professor

School of Geog Sci & Urban Pln

Daoqin.Tong@asu.edu
Myla Vicenti Carpio

Emeritus Professor

Emeritus College

Portrait of Juliann Vitullo

Juliann Vitullo

Assoc Professor, Italian

School of International Letters and Cultures

juliann.vitullo@asu.edu
Portrait of Zhihua Wang

Zhihua Wang

Assoc Professor

School of Sustainable Engineering and the Built Environment

zhwang@asu.edu
Portrait of Lauren Weidner

Lauren Weidner

Asst Professor

School of Life Sciences Interdisciplinary Graduate faculty

Lauren.Weidner@asu.edu
Portrait of Andrea Weinberg

Andrea Weinberg

Associate Professor

Institute for Social Science Research Affiliated Faculty

Andrea.Weinberg@asu.edu
Portrait of Eric Welch

Eric Welch

Center Dir (ACD) & Professor

School of Public Affairs (SPA)

EricWelch@asu.edu
Portrait of Corrie Whisner

Corrie Whisner

Assoc Professor

College of Health Solutions

Corrie.Whisner@asu.edu
Dave White headshot

Associate Vice President, Research Advancement

Knowledge Enterprise

Portrait of Amber Wutich

Amber Wutich

President’s Professor

School of Human Evolution and Social Change

Amber.Wutich@asu.edu
Portrait of Abigail York

Abigail York

Professor

School of Human Evolution and Social Change

Abigail.York@asu.edu
Portrait of Ruijie Zeng

Ruijie Zeng

Asst Professor

School of Sustainable Engineering and the Built Environment

Ruijie.Zeng.1@asu.edu
Portrait of Steven Zuiker

Steven Zuiker

Associate Professor

MLF Teachers College

Steven.Zuiker@asu.edu