Skip to Content

Learning to thrive planet-wide


Learning to thrive planet-wide


Learning to thrive planet-wide

Acknowledging there will be major environmental and societal crises in the years ahead, Arizona State University is now home to a new kind of laboratory dedicated to the discovery and innovation of the planet’s sustainability, led by globally respected experts.

Peter Schlosser headshot

Peter Schlosser

Vice President and Vice Provost of Global Futures
Director of the Global Institute of Sustainability and Innovation

Peter Schlosser is one of the world’s leading earth scientists, with expertise in earth’s hydrosphere and how humans affect the planet’s natural state. He comes to ASU from Columbia University, where he was chair of the Department of Earth and Environmental Engineering and the deputy director and director of research at the Earth Institute.
Profile

Directors

Gary Dirks
Senior Director, Julie Ann Wrigley Global Futures Laboratory and LightWorks®
garydirks@asu.edu
480-889-4820
Amanda Ellis
Director, Global Partnerships, Julie Ann Wrigley Global Futures Laboratory
Amanda.Natalie.Ellis@asu.edu
David Guston
Associate Vice Provost for Discovery, Engagement, and Outcomes, Julie Ann Wrigley Global Futures Laboratory
david.guston@asu.edu
480-727-8829
Christy Carter
Director of Development, Julie Ann Wrigley Global Futures Laboratory
Christy.Carter@asu.edu
480-834-6824
Patricia Reiter
Director of Strategic Initiatives, Julie Ann Wrigley Global Futures Laboratory
patricia.reiter@asu.edu
480-727-3094
Meredith Simpson
Director of Operations, Julie Ann Wrigley Global Futures Laboratory
Meredith.Simpson@asu.edu
480-965-1569

Staff

Jennifer Williams
Assistant to the Vice President and Vice Provost of Global Futures, Office of the University Provost
Jennifer.H.Williams@asu.edu
480-965-5079
Gina Gillies
Assistant to Senior Director, Julie Ann Wrigley Global Futures Laboratory and LightWorks®
Gina.Gillies@asu.edu
480-727-7434
Clea Edwards
Research Scientist, Earth League and Julie Ann Wrigley Global Futures Laboratory
Clea.Edwards@asu.edu
480-965-5758
Jason Franz
Senior Manager, Strategic Marketing and Communications, Knowledge Enterprise
Jason.Franz@asu.edu
480-727-4072
Julianna Gwiszcz
Research Assistant to the Senior Director, Julie Ann Wrigley Global Futures Laboratory
Julianna.Gwiszcz@asu.edu
480-965-7643
Carrie Lloyd
Senior Research Analyst, Julie Ann Wrigley Global Futures Laboratory
carrie.lloyd@asu.edu
480-727-4488

Program Leadership

Christopher Boone
Dean and Professor, School of Sustainability, College of Global Futures
Christopher.G.Boone@asu.edu
480-965-2236
Nicole Darnall
Associate Dean of Faculty Success and Strategic Partnerships, College of Global Futures
ndarnall@asu.edu
Andrew Maynard
Associate Dean of Curricula and Student Success, College of Global Futures
andrew.maynard@asu.edu
Dave White
Deputy Director, Global Institute of Sustainability and Innovation
Dave.White@asu.edu
602-496-0154

Sustainability Scientists, Scholars and Fellows

Sustainability Scientists, Scholars and Fellows are people who have conducted important sustainability research or have garnered significant honors for their work in sustainability.